top of page
  • Haley Holland

Bring It On

When Patrick was in the ICU they let him out to visit with the kids and I because children aren't allowed (for their protection). Samuel particularly liked Patrick's portable EKG wires 😆 I don't like to think that scenes like this will be a regular occurence over the coming years, but the truth is that they already kind of are... The kids and I have gone into the ER with him at 9pm and not gotten home until passed midnight. We've cancelled plans because Patrick was tired. He flew out in 2013 for several days to get a new pacemaker, and we dealt with the realities of his recovery when he got home. The way we deal with it is situations like this - taking photos of Patrick smiling. So what if he's wearing a hospital gown? So what if he has an IV in his arm? One of my FAVORITE photos is of him holding Laura when she was just a few minutes old. He's reaching for her cheek with a finger on a hand that still has an IV strapped to it, and you can see the top of his bypass incision where they had opened his chest. What matters is he was there, and we have photographic proof of the joy of the moment. So bring on the IVs. Bring on the procedures, medications, surgeries, and hospitalizations. If it means Patrick is still here, I will wield a camera like it's a third arm and document the story of our family so future generations can see what strength and love look like ❤


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Day At A Time

Buckle up. This is a long one. We have had several weeks of ups and downs, mostly due to scheduling. It has been one headache after another. Patrick isn't exactly holding steady in his symptoms but I'

And The Stars!

Once again it has been a while since I updated. I feel like apologizing even though many of you would probably tell me that’s silly. But I know your information on how Patrick is doing comes from this

bottom of page