top of page
  • Haley Holland

Inadequate Care & A U-Dub Referral!

Just a quick update: They released Patrick yesterday and he spent all day feeling sick. I called 9-1-1 again last night and he went back, only to be released again this morning. A good friend of ours gave him a ride home. He is feeling constant PVCs and palpitations. His pacemaker must be working full time. He's scared. I'm scared. He keeps apologizing to me. I feel like a spectator. There's nothing I can do besides be here for him. I called the University of Washington Cardiology center, where he had the ablation in May 2020. A referral was sent to them yesterday by the Fairbanks cardiologist who keeps releasing Patrick despite his fears of being at home when events happen. They told me their referral process takes two weeks, so if I haven't heard from them in two weeks, call them. I asked to proceed with the referral for Dr. Akhoum, but also to set up a meeting with the transplant team. I don't know if it will happen, but a message is being sent to them with my request. It's like pushing for 100% performance knowing you'll get 25%, but I'll do whatever I can. I may also call FMH administration and see if I can go above the cardiologist to get Patrick admitted to the ICU. There must be a complaint process. I just don't know what else to do. I'll keep updating. Like I said, he's home and trying to rest now.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Day At A Time

Buckle up. This is a long one. We have had several weeks of ups and downs, mostly due to scheduling. It has been one headache after another. Patrick isn't exactly holding steady in his symptoms but I'

bottom of page