top of page
  • Haley Holland

4/3/24 - Labs Update


I just wanted to pop on quickly for an update on Patrick's lab work. His white blood cells on Monday were back down to 1.9. This wasn't as concerning as the 1.3 from last week. The transplant team has hesitantly decided that if tomorrow his WBC is still low, they will decide whether he a) gets another Neupogen injection here, or b) flies down to Seattle.


I have still been sick, which is why I didn't post this earlier.


But I wanted to address again the fact of Patrick coming home from Seattle with his blood counts low.


I went back into his records and recorded every CBC he has received since the one right before his transplant. His numbers tell a compelling story, which is probably why I stuck it out after realizing what a hole I had dug for myself. I like numbers. They have always been calming for me; grounding for me. I may not have made it through Algebra II in high school, but spreadsheets and number organization have always been my thing. (Just the other day I followed a YouTube tutorial on building a mortgage amortization spreadsheet to estimate the progress on our young mortgage, just for fun....)


So, for your reading pleasure I have included an image of said record, dating back to February 2023.


As for his more recent records, if you take his WBCs from the previous seven months (August - February), the average is 3.58. If you go back to June, when they finally dipped below the 5s, the average for those nine months is 3.44. So I can see why the 2.9 he had on Friday, March 22nd, was enough to send him on his way.


Tomorrow we will see what his labs say and what his immediate future looks like. I don't relish the idea of another Neupogen injection because it really did a number on Patrick's body. But I would really like his early-March health back.


By the way, that biopsy they did on March 20th showed no rejection. He's my rockstar ❤️

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Apologies

I need to clarify a circumstance I wrote about in the one-year blog post, and apologize for any negativity I expressed. As you all know, I get all of my information secondhand from Patrick - meaning,

bottom of page