top of page
  • Haley Holland

Apologies

I need to clarify a circumstance I wrote about in the one-year blog post, and apologize for any negativity I expressed.


As you all know, I get all of my information secondhand from Patrick - meaning, not directly from his providers. So when he vented frustrations to me about his first Neupogen shot at Fairbanks Memorial Hospital, I then vented on here with information that wasn't entirely correct.


Patrick's care from FMH has been exemplary. The staff at the hospital haven't always been equipped for his complicated case, but when it has been necessary, they haven't hesitated to bring in (or push him towards) the team in Seattle. This hospital-to-hospital working relationship has never been 100% smooth, nor will it likely ever be. But both hospitals do their best to maintain Patrick's excellent level of care.


So my frustrated and snarky comment that amounted to, "The right hand doesn't know what the left is doing," in regards to FMH was in error, and I apologize. After having it explained to me today, I now understand what was going on behind the scenes, out of my view, and how I jumped to the conclusions that I did.


You know what they say about making assumptions...


Also, Patrick has made a commitment to provide only the facts to me, much less colored by his own frustrations, in an attempt to ensure my updates are unbiased and true. He also apologizes, because he understands his role in this transplant update grapevine.


Grace isn't something I take lightly. I extend it to others in abundance, but don't often request that it be granted to me. I ask that now - for my previous posts, and future ones. You guys know I vent my frustrations here, and likely still will. But know that I am human, and I often make very human mistakes.


Much love to all of you - our friends, families, supporters, and the staffs at FMH and UW Heart Institute 💕

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page